Do the advantages of studying abroad outweigh the disadvantages?

Commonly questioned is whether studying abroad is worth it or not. This essay will prove how the advantages of the independence gained as well as the influence from foreign cultures greatly outweighs the main disadvantage of the financial strain. One of the main benefits of learning in a foreign environment is how it can help a young individual to survive on their own. That is to say, by living alone in a new place, a student will be forced to adapt and manage their own life, from paying bills and feeding themselves. As a result, this will allow for them to become much more independent than if they stayed in their home country, being sheltered by their parents. Another key advantage of studying abroad is the exposure to other countries perspectives. In other words, a foreign country comes with a wide range of differences which forces a young learner to become accustomed with in order to fit in. For instance, often another country will have not just a new language with colloquial expressions, but further is the food and way of life, all of which brings much experience. On the other hand, the biggest drawback against studying in another country is the high cost attached with it. This cost is not just the school fees, but also the accommodation – both of which are often brought up when evaluating if this opportunity is even worth it or not. However, with student loans and scholarships now being offered, many students are able to find ways to make the money issue almost disappear; thus, allowing them to study abroad and gain so much from it. In conclusion, while studying abroad does bring about financial worries, the independent lifestyle and culture exposure make it well worth the cost. If someone is contemplating studying overseas, they should jump at this chance in a heartbeat.