The precentage of overweight children in western society has increased by almost 20% in the last ten years. Discuss the causes and effects of this disturbing trend.

In recent years, obesity has become a widely discussed issue, especially in western society where the rate of overweight children has incresead by 20% over the last few years. The main reasons behind the problem are unhealthy alimentation and technology while the major effects are medical cost and food -related disturbs. European and US citizens tend to eat junk food at least 2 times per week. This is due to the widespread fast-foods culture and new delivery apps. In fact, in every capital or big city, walking around city centres is extremely easy to come across a myriad of McDonalds, Burger Kings or resturant restaurants that offer cheap and decadent food. Thus, children choose to eat there to save money and feel satisfied. Moreover, technologies have made easier to received processed food at home. For instance, with apps such as Uber and Glovo a meal is delivered in less than 20 minutes meals from all the shops, contributing to the perception of saving time. These are two causes of the higher percentage of overweight children in western society. One of the main consequences of childhood obesity is the effect on overall well-being of childrens. Eating too much unhealthy food lead to increased risk of diabetes, heart disease, and social and psychological problems. This has also a huge impact on heathcare systems, with raising cost associated with treating obesity-related conditions. Finally, childrens often are stigmatized from their peers and that may lead to avoidance of social interaction and sedentarity, which makes the conditions even worse. In conclusion, the higher proportion of youngsters affected by obesity-related problems is mainly consequences of the fast- food culture and technologies which make easier to buy processed food while the main effects are the impacts on both physical and mental health of obese children.