An increasing number of people choosing to have cosmetic surgery in order to improve their appearance. Why do people have operations to change the way they look? Do you think this is positive or negative development?

It is not exaggerated to say that the tendency of cosmetic surgery is increasing significantly with the high level of technology and the professional technique of plastic surgeons. The main purpose of the people who have undergone operations is to enhance their beauty and make them feel more confident when they go out. From my point of view, this issue has both pros and cons, but it is one of the most crucial pieces of evidence to prove that our world is more and more developed. On the one hand, cosmetic surgery has a positive aspect that relates to people's appearance. Besides, there is an unrealistic beauty standard that always exists in the consciousness of people who can afford to have cosmetic surgery. Firstly, the definite purpose of this operation is to improve people's appearance to boost their self-esteem. Hence, this physical modification is to develop psychological benefits that help people feel happier and more comfortable with themselves. Furthermore, in the entertainment or modelling industry, appearance can play a crucial role in finding professional opportunities. Hence, they may get a better salary when they get a new career in the beauty industry, and this also helps them lead a better life. On the other hand, this type of surgery always has many risks and disadvantages that can do harm to people. The evident drawback that we can clearly see is health problems both during and after the surgery process. During this procedure, there are some risks as infection or bleeding. In addition, after surgery, people can be affected by side effects, which is a danger to their health, and the surgery also leaves scarring on their skin. Vitally, the change of appearance is also equivalent to the societal attitudes toward beauty, so they will get a lot of negative comments from other people in real life or on social media. This type of bullying can injure the mental health of people who are undergoing surgery. In summary, cosmetic surgery always has both benefits and drawbacks. People can get advantages in their appearance or career, but it also carries risks from surgery or people's attitudes. It is important to have a proper perspective and get advice from an expert before undergoing any operations.