Some say that physical punishment is better to punish to discipline a child. while others argue that gentle-parenting is more feasible. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Some argue that it is better to beat up a child when they misbehave, while others argue that gentle-parenting methods should be adopted. Although parents may think that they are teaching their children valuable lessons by physically harming them, I believe that it is better to use other effective methods to discipline then when they act out of character. On the one hand, some parents resort to violent methods of disicipling discipline a child when they misbehave because they think that hitting them will make them aware of the consequences of their actions. Furthermore, they believe that by physically harming them when they are wrong they are training them not to misbehave anymore. For example, according to reports, in Nigeria, the majority of children who are beaten up become morally decadent. However, I believe that physical punishment only makes children become violent because they develop resentment and a sense of fear of their parents thereby causing them to become more rebellious. On the other hand, other people say that there are effective ways of avoiding violence and promoting physical behaviour. Physical punishments creates a cycle of violence, as children who are beaten grow up to use violence, which harms society as a whole. Additionally, parents should adopt methods such as communication, setting clear boundaries and rewarding good behaviour in order to encourage and develop self-discipline. For instance, recent studies have shown that parents in The United Kingdom who use gentle-parenting skills to train their children raise morally upright individuals. In conclusion, although beating children is acceptable in certain cultures because it teaches them valuable life lessons. Parents should adopt non violent methods that re-inforce respect, understanding and healthy development.