Governments should spend more money on railways than on roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree

It is believed that the government should focus on maintaining and upgrading railway rather than roads. I firmly agree with this statement. Firstly, financially roadway is much more expensive than using trains. Secondly, it is much safer and cost effective for government to rely on trains. In greater detail, user's of railway transport will save a lot of money when using this form of travelling. Expenses such as fuel, tyres and everyday wear and tear takes a big portion of these user's money, whereas with a train it is much less due to the amount of paying consumers on the train. For example, a study done by the University of Cape Town, have found that making use of public forms of transport, such as trains, save up to 40% of citizens monthly expenses. Moreover, the death rate on roads are much higer than on railway. Trains controlled by operators and systems makes place for less human error causing less accidents. With thousands of cars on the road everyday, people tend to make mistakes causing major collisions resulting in death. In 2023 railway deaths stood at a mere 10 while road casualties ended at at high of 1223 deaths, in Cape Town South Africa. Therefore, costing government more money in the Road Accident Fund, which is payeble to road users. In conclusion, factors such as safety and the financial implications of road transport, is the main reason why local government should rather focus on improving railway systems as the future transport method.