Some people think climate change has a negative impact on business, while others think that it provides more business options. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In recent years there has been a growing debate on whether climate change has a detrimental effect on worldwide industries or it gives more business opportunities. As far as I am concerned, while it is true that enviromental issues pose a threat to some type of industries, it also pushes companies to improve their business models, with positive impacts on the environment.  On the one hand, climate change causes problems for many business, such as higher costs for materials and production. This can lead to lower profits and even business closures. Moreover, governments are increasingly issuing policies and rules aiming to reduce the quantity of greenhouse gas emissions (GHG) and to monitor sustainability of their supply chain. For example, in the last mandate, the European Union promoted the "Green Deal", a package of different laws which obligated undertakings reporting their Environmental, Social and Governance (ESG) impacts. As a consequences, entire new departments needed to be created, causing extra costs and investments. On the other hand, companies have started investing in more sustainable business model. The production of green products such as electric cars, solar panels, and wind turbine is rapidly increasing, thus generating new business and job opportunities. Take the energy fields as an example: in the past the main electrical sources were gas, oil and fuel while now the focus is on renewable energy. These have positive consequences not only for industries but also for the environment itself. In addition, governments and institutions tend to allocate a huge amount of money in research and innovation, helping industries manage their finance.  In conclusion, although environmental issues require investments and may have negative impacts on business, they have changed the traditional trajectory of work, generated new opportunity, and pushed companies to develop more sustainable business models.