In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an aging population creates problems for governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of having an aging population outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, people can live for more years compared to their ancestors. A group of people consider ageing a big problem for societies, while others believe it could benefit the communities in some cases. In this essay, the demerits in terms of the cost and productivity, and merits in terms of having a happier family and a safer society will be explored. One of the main disadvantages of an old population is financial problems. The elderly people are at risk of many diseases and their complications. It is highly likely that they become admitted to hospitals several times a year and also take plenty of expensive medications. In many countries, governments are in charge of most of these expenses and this will put a huge amount of pressure on them. Another disadvantage is low productivity in the country. The older the country's population, the less will be its manpower for various job opportunities. Unlike the younger individuals, the old ones spend most of their time at their house and rest. They do not have enough energy to work in factories or other facilities and be productive assets for their community. They are more of a consumer than a producer so it is obvious that in this society there will be a shortage of manpower in important aspects. On the other hand, a group of people believe that a high number of older people in a country could be positive. The first benefit is having a happy family. The elderly are an important part of each family. As grandparents, they can lead their children towards making better decisions in their life and also take care of their grandchildren. In these families, because of elderly parents arguments will be less frequent and the risk of divorce might be also fewer. Thus, these families will have fewer problems and will be happier. Another advantage is having a safer community in these societies. Younger people have plenty of energy and sometimes attitude to do unsafe social behaviours and even commit criminal activities. Unlike them, because the older individuals are calm by nature, not only they will not involve themselves in such activities, but also recommend the youngsters to have safer behaviours and even sometimes stop them. As a result, the rate of unsafe activities in the communities will decline. In conclusion, some people believe older individuals have plenty of problems for the governments and other people, while others suggest that their existence is more positive than negative. Although there are some disadvantages like the high costs and low manpower for jobs, their benefits like having a happier family and a safe society are more important.