Some schools have restricted the use of mobile phones. Is this a positive or negative development?

The restriction of using mobile phones at schools is commonly found. However, some other schools have allowed the students for using phones. This phenomenon has some negative impacts, such as limiting the additional materials and taking longer time to capture the slides. Firstly, mobile phone restriction at some schools might limit students source of learning materials. This is because student cannot surf the internet via their mobile phones if they need more explanation or more example of the materials. For instance, in Jakarta, there is a secondary school which allowed phone usage in the class to assist them by the internet source of material. Then, the students have a responsibility to discuss their additional knowledge they gained from the internet with the class. Consequently, they tend to be more engaged with the modules because they gain more knowledge from the mobile phone than the teacher had been prepared. Secondly, mobile phone limitation have a potential to take more time for capturing the class materials because students have to write the notes. The reason is, students can capture the slides or whiteboard with their mobile phones more quickly. Writing the materials on our own notes, from one whiteboard, takes around five minutes. However, taking a picture of the materials need less than three seconds, which is 100 times more effective than writing the materials. As a result, comparing to taking notes with hand writing, mobile phone captures the materials easier and faster. In conclusion, the statement regarding the restriction of phone usages in some schools is a negative development. This is caused by students will limit their source of additional materials and taking notes inefficiently.