Some people believe that governments should have access to people’s mobile phone call records and messages for safety reasons. Others believe that this information is private and should not be available without permission. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

Whether or not the authorities should have access to citizens' personal information is controversial while some said that that the state should for safety reasons, others argued the opposite. The writer of this essay agree with the latter idea because of personal privacy and unexploitable despite decreased crime rate. Not everyone wants the government to look at their personal information which can be against the values of a free and private society. As a result, letting people control what they have and keeping their personal information to themselves give them a sense of comfort because they are the only one knows. To take Japan for example where its people are free to enter their personal details to create a new account to a website or an authorized app, yet their economy grows significantly because the Japanese do not have to worry about the state taking their house numbers or names. On the other hand, some argued that personal details should be under control by the authorities. This is understandable because of the fact that the state can be benefited from catching criminals as they know where each citizen are and what they look like which might make the identification process easier. As a result, publicizing this can be a warning to who have the intention of committing crime which can overall decrease the crime rate by quite an amount. However this means more will refuse to give out their personal details so as to not get caught and because of uncomfortable feelings. Another aspect that needs consideration is how hard it is for hackers and criminals to exploit. Keeping all details of every single citizen in one place might not be ideal because if the system gets exploit, the authorities are at risk of letting scammers to freely use this to erase their identity or to know everyone's phone numbers, bank details and more. However, keeping personal information to oneself eliminate the potential of losing it as should the account details get exposed, only one individual get affected and not risking millions. Thus, the writer of this essay strongly believe that personal details can not be shared to the government under any circumstances because of privacy and exploitation prevention in spite of reduced crime rate.