In some countries there are more young people choosing to enrol in work-based training instead of attending university. Do the advantages of this situation outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, in many regions, there is an increasing number of young people that decide to enroll in work-oriented training over attending the university. Although choosing the work-based training has the downside that excludes the possibility to land to those job that require university degree, I firmly believe that the benefits outweight the disadvantages. There are many reasons which could lead youngters to choose to go straight to train for work. Firstly, it allows you to acquire directly practical experience in the field that you are interested in, Indeed, the firms that organize this kind of trainings are strictly work oriented and based on hands-practices, in which the people can learn faster and more effectively. Studies demonstrated that learning through practice has better outcomes than learning form theory. In addition, another benefit relates to the fact that those who pursuit this kind path are very likely to land to the job that they have been training for. On the other hand, there are also disadvantages to take into account. First of all, many jobs, especially those which require high level of skills, present as a minimum requirement that of having a university degree, which can be obtained only through attending university. However, researches have shown that during the recruitment, an increasing number of companies are giving more importance to the real skill that the candidates possess rathen than considering their academic career. In conclusion, although many jobs require the university deegree, i firmly believe that the advantages derived from choosing the work-based traineeship far outweight outweighs the relative disadvantage, since there is an on-going trend according which the university degree is not that valuable as in the past.