In the future all cars, buses and trucks will be driverless. The only people travelling inside these vehicles will be passengers. Do you think the advantages of driverless vehicles outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience

In the future, all vehicles will be autonomous. Passengers will be the only people inside them. I believe businesses could cut costs by using driveless cars, and this advantage far outweighs any potential disadvantages. One downside of self-driving cars might be that they could lead to large employment losses. Nowadays, in many countries, a great number of people are making a living by driving, be they truckers, bus drivers, or delivery couriers. Imagine all these people are made redundant by autonomous cars. That would raise the unemployment rates in these countries significantly. However, I think this can be avoided if drivers re-skill to get themselves a job in a new sector. On the positive side, driveless cars could help businesses reduce operating expenses. This is because with these cars, they would not need to hire drivers to deliver their products or services to their customers. For example, the American logistics company UPC currently has hundreds of thousands of trucks, drivers, and pay them an average of $60,000 per year, which adds up to tens of billions of dollars annually. Replacing these drivers with autonomous cars could mean that these huge salary payments could be eliminated. I think this could create a great advantage for society as a whole because companies could devote the money they save on labor to other aspects of their business. Which could mean cheaper, better goods for customers. In conclusion, although self-driving vehicles would result in many job losses, I believe this downside is greatly outweighed by the upside that these vehicles could help businesses save operating costs.