It is a natural process that animal species such as dinosaurs become extinct. There is no reason for people to prevent this from happening. Do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

The extinciton of an animal species, like dinosaurs, does come from natural selection. However, it is also something that should be helped prevented. I believe as modern people, we have valid reasons to preserve the diversity of animals as they can protect the food chain, and that every species serves a purpose of their own in the environment. Animals plays a big role in the food chain. The presence and non-existent of certain species determine the balance of the food chain. To illustrate this, a case in a paddy field population, where the snakes are caught by humans and it then become extinct so people are no longer afraid of getting bitten. However, this would eliminate the predators of rats living there, causing its population to increase massively. This then would also increase the demand of source of food for the rats to eat. And so they would eat all the paddies and there would be nothing left. Another reason is that every species has its own roles and benefits into the environment even if it is indirectly. For example, bees are crucial for this world. Even though they maybe do not play a big role in the food chain directly, they do help the pollination of the flowers. This is a huge factor in all the other food chains as it is the reason for most of the plants to reproduce. And by reproducing, the plants can continue to exist, and become the source of life to other species, including us humans. To conclude, while it is given that animal will go through natural selection and can become extinct, we still need to protect it from happening as they are important for our life on this earth, whether it is to keep a balance food chain, or indirectly keeping it exist to begin with.