In their advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphasis that their products are new in some way. Why is this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, producers are eager to show in their advertisements that their products are new to some extent. This is mainly due to limited innovation. I vehemently believe this to be a negative development due to the lack of creativity in the long term. One of the main reasons why companies want to emphasis on new features in their products is their limited ability to build something completely new. Each producer has to invest plenty of money for research and development in order to make something new. Even when they produced an entirely new product, they have to spend too much money to build new production lines, which not only is expensive, but it will take plenty of time. Thus, in order to save money, these producers prefer to focus on slight changes in their products each year to decrease their expenses. Moreover, they try to magnify these changes in their advertisements and attract consumer's attention. These advertisements cost only a fraction of the money which they should spend to make a whole new product. However, this approach can lead to many problems including lack of creativity in industries in the long term. When companies get used to make little changes in their products each year, instead of investing in research and innovation, gradually they will lose the ability and attitude to make revolutionary products. Although advertisements could boost the sales in the short term, they cannot replace innovation. In a competitive market, when a company loses the ability of making big changes, other competitors will replace them by making new products, which might even lead to their bankruptcy. In conclusion, many companies are interested in advertising small changes in their products. This is because of their limited ability to make big changes. Although this might benefit them shortly, but due to lakcing of creativity they may lose their position to other competitors.