Many countries use fossil fuels (coal, oil, natural gas) as the main source of energy. However, in some countries the use of the alternative sources of energy (wind energy and solar energy) is encouraged. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Some countries have been using fossil fuels as the primary source of energy, while other countries are encouraging the use of renewable forms of energy, such as wind energy and solar energy. I strongly disagree with the concept that countries must only depend on their preferred form of energy as both have their benefits and drawbacks, and will discuss that using both forms together can generate a much greater output. On the one side, some countries prefer the use of fossil fuels as the main source of energy. This is because it generates a large amount of energy compared to the alternative sources, and can boost many facilities. For example, In India, there exist many fossil fuel power stations that generate energy enough to light the cities and various infrastructures. Although the efficiency of energy produced is large, fossil fuels have the drawbacks of emitting harmful gases and being less abundant. As fossil fuels are considered a non-renewable form of energy, their overuse can easily deprive it of nature and moreover, generate toxic gases harmful to the environment, which are not seen with the use of alternative sources. On the other side, countries abundantly use renewable sources of energy. This is because, unlike fossil fuels, they largely exist in nature and also do not produce any remnants that threaten the environment. For example, Mulaperiar Dam, a widely known site in India, generates a surplus amount of energy, which is used to supply electricity to local communities. However, the output of alternative sources is lesser than fossil fuels, and countries solely depending on this, won't be helpful for their economy. Therefore, I believe that countries must use hybrid forms that use fossil fuels and renewable sources so they produce a great amount of energy while it protects the environment. In conclusion, The use of fossil fuels by some countries can produce a large amount of energy but its overuse could threaten the environment, which is quite the opposite for countries that encourage the use of alternative sources of energy. The balanced use of both forms of energy must rather be the approach for all countries.