In some countries, owning a home rather than renting one is very important for people. Why might this be the case? Do you think this is a positive or negative situation?

In several nations, people prefer to buy a house than rent it. There is a reason where owning a property determine whether people are success or not. In my opinion, it has some drawbacks, such as doing more repairment and living in a less strategic location. Homeownership is important for some people because it is a symbol of success. The reason is, it represents the financial status of people due to the high cost of real estates. For example, in Cibubur, a new small house charges around one billion rupiah, which means two-hundred times of the monthly minimum wage and not many people can afford that. As a result, people will think that you come from a high status background and have a lot of money, if you are a young newlywed couple who have your own house. However, in fact, it has several negative impacts as people have to deal with a very high interest and a long tenor debt to pay the instalment. First, people will choose a place which is more affordable, even though it is not in a proper condition. As a result, it requires more effort to repair the house in the future since more maintenance works need to be done. Second, citizens’ decision also lead to a real estate which is located in the suburb area. As a consequences, people have to commute a long journey to go to their office in the city center. In conclusion, buying an accommodation is a preferable option compared to renting one. It can be caused by the social status that determine by owning a property. But, it has a bad impact such as a potential for high maintenance cost and could located far from their workplace.