Some educationalists think that international exchange visits will benefit teenagers at the school. To what extend do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

People in the field of education contemplate that cross-cultural exchanges at the secondary school level will be beneficial for pupils. Although, there might be possible drawbacks in terms of the curriculum taught, I believe that implementation of these programs outweigh its challenges and can be transformative for the lives of teenagers due to their huge impact on the improvement of a foreign language and broadening the worldview. One major advantage of international exchange is the opportunity to learn or improve a foreign language skills. In order to be a proficient speaker, it is necessary to be exposed to the language on daily basis. In addition to this, enhanced linguistic skills enable to read and comprehend the informational materials, which leads to expand the world view. One of the main reasons of this is a daily compulsory engagement with the local people. For example, two people start learning French at the same time for one year. The first one chooses to study merely at school, while the second spends three months in France. At the end of their one -year preparation period, the latter will be more fluent in French and gain more information about the culture. On the downside, students might face difficulties because of the curriculum differences between the home and host schools. This often reflects itself in the form of credits that are obtained. If this process is not managed properly by school counselors, it may cause a delay on student's graduate date and jeopardize the future plans. For example, a German student takes calculus class at her high school on the second year of her studies, however she can study it in the last year in the United States. Therefore, it creates discrepancies in terms of fulfilling the graduation requirements. In conclusion, an international exchange visit may raise a problem because of the syllabi. Nevertheless, it is undeniable that these programs are beneficial for juveniles, because the process creates opportunities for personal growth. In my opinion, it is an transformative experience, which helps a teenager to develop self-confidece.