Many government spend a lot of money on art. Some people think this investment in art is necessary, but others say the money is better spent on improving health and education. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

There is an ongoing debate regarding whether the governments should allocate their expenditure heavily on art sectors rather than healthcare and education or not. In this essay, I will discuss both viewpoints and explain why I consider that societal aspects, including medical and educational services, should be prioritized. To begin with, the arts are significant for society bacause we can enhance our creativity and cultivate curiousity thanks to the existances of those entertainment. Without the contents, such as movies, plays, literatures and beautiful pictures, richness of our culture would be lost. For instance, in rural areas of Japan, due to governmental decisions, one specific county reallocated the budget for a cultural development to the national pension of residents. This decision is currently regarded as one of the prominent failures because it consequently leads to the higher suicide rate in that county, and it has been proved that the main cause of this serious result is the lack of entertainment. Thus, it is true that the arts are essential for the entire society and public sectors need to support this field by endorsing financially. However, it is also true that citizens must be healthy and rich in physical and intellectual aspects because if they have no capacity to understand those arts and have health issues, they cannot even enjoy those contents. For instance, to understand a specific oil painting, we need to caputure what types of arts this picture belongs to and what the painter wants to express through that picture. In other words, some cultural knowledge are essential, and we can acquire them through education. Moreover, when we hope to explore those creative contents, we must need to visit the facilities such as theaters and museums. But if we have serious health problems and cannot reach those places physically, there is no opportunity for people to enjoy them. Therefore, health and education are more basic aspects of our society so that the governments firstly need to support these areas instead of cultural richness. In conclusion, while the existance of arts plays an essential role in our daily lives, healthcare and educational services are more directly related to our basic needs. For this reason, I suggest that the governments must need to allocate abundant financial capitals on these fundamental services and invest in art afterwards. Thus, my position is opposite to the opinion that public sector should allocate more budgets on art.