Some people believe that adults get motivated to exercise and play sports because of the major sports events on TV such as the Olympic Games and Football World Cup. Others say that there are many ways apart from TV to encourage them to exercise. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, there are multiple sports competitions taking place around the world and are broadcast on TV. They are thought to prompt people to engage in sports activities. While the major sporting events such as Olympic Games and Football World Cup help to popularise sports, I believe there are many more ways people can derive their motivation from. It is true that these major sporting events attract a mass audience and play a vital role in bringing sports closer to people. What we see on TV screens often makes us want to do it because these events spread a sporty atmosphere all over the globe. This influence can be so profound that even those who normally lead a passive lifestyle tend to feel an irresistible urge to take part. These events alone, however, are unlikely to keep the masses motivated long enough. One effective way would be for governments to provide sports facilities, making them more accessible to the general public. The abundance of basketball courts in China and football pitches in Brazil, for example, render these sports more appealing. People themselves are also a great source of motivation. When family and friends entice us to join a football match, for instance, or a morning jog, it is harder to reject an offer. People are more inclined to do activities others around us do. In my opinion, the events shown on TV are just not enough to keep people motivated since these major events are held once in 4 - 5 years. Small but constant encouragement would prove to be more effective. In conclusion, sports events on television are powerful motivation, although their effect does not last long. I personally think that people and opportunities in our environment would have a more noticeable impact.