Some people believe that the money spent on space exploration technology is not justifiable. The money can be spent on other beneficial things. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many believe that investing resources in discovering new frontiers like space exploration is a waste of time and money. They are convinced that governments should finance other enterprises directly related to public needs. Others think that space research is a field to invest in because it represents the future for humans. I believe that spending funds on space research is one of the most important issues for us as it represents the new frontier for our species' evolution. On the one hand, it is widely thought that western countries are spending too much money on space research, because space discovery is seen as an unreachable goal. The idea is that skies are considered fascinating as well as far: no one has any idea if and where we will find places where humans could live. The lack of short-term goals represents the most crucial issue for those who think that space research is a waste of money and would prefer to invest in concrete actions to solve more urgent and close social problems. On the other hand, in my opinion we are entering a new era of discoveries. That is the reason why it is crucial to invest in new space missions. It is like in the Colombian era: humans were not conscious of the revolutionary impact that Christopher Columbus's expedition would represent. If the Queen of Portugal had not financed that adventure, America would have remained undiscovered at least for decades and the wealthy world as we know now would not exist. This is an example of how innovation works; it needs pioneers as well as financial support, even though the destination is not clear. The unknown cannot be discovered or understood until having accepted that we must proceed through deliberate attempts. In conclusion, although it is true that nowadays there are so many social issues governments must face, and it is important that they are not neglected, research on space should be one of the fields to finance, as it represents the future for technological development and human progress.