The rise of remote working has transformed the traditional workplace. Do the advantages of remote working outweigh the disadvantages?

In this technological era, there has been a notable shift of office work to online work. Meanwhile, this situation has various merits and demerits; but, the advantages outweigh the disadvantages. Online work provides employees the convenience they can enjoy from home. They can work from their home space while managing their home duties. They not only can save travel expenses but also can save time, especially parents who have the responsibility to take care of children. In addition to this, environmental pollution and congestion can be controlled with this approach. If people are not travelling for work, there will be fewer vehicles on the road. Consequently, it will mitigate the hurdle of pollution and traffic. The results citizens got during COVID-19—the clear sky and breathable air are a big example in this scenario. Moreover, it can also be beneficial for employers, too. They can reduce the burden of office space, electricity bills, and equipment costs. They can utilise this money on other focused areas like promotion, quality of products, and eco-friendly packaging, which are crucial to enhance the productivity and profitability of work. Therefore, it will assist them to manage expenses within budget. However, we cannot deny the demerits. Firstly, it requires a suitable internet connection. If the internet is down for a day, it will affect the working of businesses. Secondly, some jobs demand a peaceful environment, especially customer service vacancies, which might not be possible in joint families and for people with kids. That means these barriers can impact the job security of individuals. In conclusion, in this electronic era, professionals are preferring to work from websites without traditional office space. This provides various advantages to employees and employers, too. However, the merits outweigh the demerits.