Ambition is a positive quality for people to have in societies today. How important is it for people who want to succeed in life? Is it a positive or negative characteristic?

Some state that being ambitious is a vital advantage nowadays. The writer of this essay believes this notion to be true as ambition helps individuals to be determined in what they do and diminishes complacency in life, despite others arguing that this is detrimental to one's ego if their preliminary plans failed. It must be noted that ambitious people work hard for their goals. Due to the fact that these people desire so much in life, they naturally will want to thrive in order to reach those achievements. For instance, Elon Musk, who used to be the richest man on Earth, acquired his assets by profusely working on his long-held dream of innovating technology. It can be seen from this example that those who are ambitious will also willingly improve upon themselves to reach their goals. Another component as to why ambition is such an important factor in life is that it prevents people from being distracted. In other words, while being ambitious, people will not cease their journey of reaching what they desire, despite facing many procastinating elements. In fact, a research by the university of Quanda noted that low-performing students who had wanted to attend top academic insitutions at the beginning of the year had significantly better results in the end. In spite of the aforementioned qualities of being ambitious, people still fear that acquiring this trait will be negative for egoists. Stemming from cases in which entrepeuners failed, they not only might have wasted much of their efforts but also became hesitant to start new businesses. However, ambitious individuals would not be complacent or give up at the first of defeat. Matter of fact, this will only drive them to work harder as to achieve their designated goals. In conclusion, ambition aids individuals to become determined on what they do as well as removing procastination from their lives, yet some may rebut that people with this trait are more proned to giving up.