Some people think that companies and individuals should pay to clear up the pollution they produced and that the government should not pay for it. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In today’s modern society, the problem of pollution has become much more serious. Some people believe that citizens and the company should take full responsibility for the waste they produce, and the government cannot charge for it. Personally, I do not agree with this statement, and I believe that a healthy environment needs the cooperation of both the authorities and individuals. To begin with, large-scale companies should pay to manage the waste they produce, since most of the harmful gases and wastewater come from their production processes that operate in their factories. As a result, they play a crucial role in protecting the environment. If they can reach the goal of being eco-friendly, the risk of pollution can decrease significantly. Likewise, people also take part in environmental protection. Everyday people can generate lots of waste, for example, using air conditioners produces waste gases, or pouring leftover food into the sink pollutes the water. So citizens undoubtedly should pay for it. However, the government should also be involved in the process of clearing the waste too. As a large segment of government revenue comes from taxes paid by citizens, it is incumbent on them to satisfy the public needs. They can establish some rules and regulations to reward the companies that clean most of their waste. The cleaner the company is, the more reward they would get. I think the authority can play a positive role to encourage enterprises to be more environmentally friendly. In this way, the global warming and pollution problem can improve noticeably. In conclusion, in my opinion, I believe that keeping the environment clean is everybody’s responsibility. Therefore, everyone should make an effort to protect it. Ultimately, I think that both the government and individuals should pay to clear the pollution.