In some countries university students live at home with their family while they study, whereas in other countries students attend university in another city. Do you think the benefits of living away from home during university outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from own knowledge or experience.

There is an ongoing trend in some countries, whereas some college students are living with their family, other students are living apart from their home and staying in another area alone. Certainly, though doing so would bring some disadvantages to students, they might benefit from those decisions in some parts. In this essay, I will discuss both benefits and drawbacks of this trend and explain why I consider that total advantages would outweigh entire disadvantages. To begin with, living without parents, brothers and sisters can benefit students themselves in terms of emotional and practical aspects. For instance, by creating an independent environment, younger generations, including university students, automatically need to manage their own daily lives because there is no one who has been supporting. In other words, they have to go supermarkets to obtain some food, to cook and to wash dishes they used by themselves without any help. However, by managing these daily tasks continuously, they will become more independent and more confident. Moreover, they will be able to acquire several skills, including cooking, financial management and efficiency, through these daily experiences, and those skills are also practical and essential in the companies. This means that they can leverage those experiences and competencies, especially when they hunt the jobs in the future. Therefore, the benefits brought by living alone are significant. On the other hand, some people counterargue that if parents permit their children to live alone in another city, those children might be lazier due to the lack of supervising. This opinion is somehow correct, and similar cases occur sometimes. For instance, when I was a student at university, one of my friends at that time has been always going to the bar and drinking, and those loose behaviours consequently led to low grades in the classes. This case indicates that there are certainly some possibilities that this trend generates disadvantages. However, if mother and father keep helping their children even though he or she are already 19 or 20 years old, the growth of their societal skills will be delayed as a result. Thus, even if there are some risks that students themselves will be disadvantaged by living alone, parents should encourage them to do so because the entire benefits are long-lasting and helpful for children to cultivate their own careers in the future. In conclusion, while there are possibilities that university students will be affected by the drawbacks of living alone, the advantages, such as emotional enhancements and pragmatic skills, are remarkable. For this reason, I believe that the benefits of doing so would outweigh the drawbacks.