Transporting large amount of food to richer nations from developing countries is having an impact on air pollution and climate change. Some people say such imports should therefore be reduced. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The dependency of people on variety of food and impact on the environment owing to import of large amount of food from developing nations to more developed nations is becoming a major concern. It has been observed that because of the surge in importing food by means of air, land and water, the air pollution is consistently increasing and has a significant impact on the climate. I firmly believe that such imports ought to be reduced which will not only help promoting local food supply because of shorter distances but also help in reducing carbon emissions throughout the world. Commencing with the most significant reason why import of food supply across countries should be reduced, it will hugely help in reducing carbon emissions. Most of the transport of food over long distances requires planes or ships that burn fossil fuels which emit harmful gases and increase carbon emission in the environment. Hence, limiting such imports will reduce the overuse of fossil fuels and ultimately help in lowering air pollution. For example, as per the recent survey conducted by WHO, air pollution can be reduced by 40% by accelerating local imports within a country. Moreover, owing to the over-reliance of transportation means on the fossil fuels, the impact on climate change is widely observed across the globe. The harmful gases and carbon footprints left while transporting food over long distances have significantly accelerated the melting of glaciers coupled with the depletion of ozone layer. This has proved to be major cause for the recent climate change being overserved in many countries. For example, Canada has seen the worst temperature rise in the past 40 years because of climate change, leading to short winter durations and reducing the food production that requires winter conditions. To conclude, I would say that there is a dire need to aware people about the impact of food transport on environment and encourage them to buy local food. This will not only help in boosting a country's local economy but also help significantly in reducing harmful impact on climate and air. The government also needs to make stringent policies regarding the reduction of food transportation over long distances to minimize the impact on environment.