In many countries today, if people want to find work, they have to move away from their friends and their families. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from own knowledge or experience.

There is an ongoing trend that people need to move away from their hometowns and be dispatched from their own friends and families, if they want to obtain higher salaries. This trend can be seen not just in developing countries but also in developed countries. In this essay, I will discuss both the benefits and drawbacks of this worldwide tendency and explain why I believe that the advantages outweigh the disadvantages. To begin with, from a pragmatic viewpoint, there are several benefits brought by moving to urban areas alone to find jobs. This is simply because of the number of opportunities in cities. For instance, in Japan, younger generations are more likely to leave from rural areas due to the lack of employments which are willing to pay higher salaries. In contrast, by going to large cities, such as Tokyo, Osaka and Kobe, they can easily find preferable job offers that the wages are comparatively higher. Therefore, going away from their original places and living alone in large cities for higher earnings are rational decisions, and the benefits brought by doing so are practical because by making more money, their own economic choices will be wider, and they will be able to support their families and friends financially as a result. On the other hand, some people counterargue by citing various potential drawbacks generated from this trend. These disadvantages are mainly that family members or friends left in the countryside struggle with decreasing labor and that the scarcity of workers consequently leads to financial burdens on themselves. Certainly, this problematic chain is currently happening in Japanese rural areas, and regional governments sometimes have no choice but endorsing them by providing money. However, it is also true that if those remining people can be more patient and accept that some members of them move to cities to earn, the total benefits are long-lasting and more meaningful because if they could find optimal jobs there, they would be able to send money to remaining residents. Then, the entire rural society can flourish as a consequence, so the benefits will outweigh the drawbacks from a wider perspective. In conclusion, though several short-lasting disadvantages can arise due to the temporary lack of workers, the total advantages are notable and long-lasting. For this reason, I firmly believe that the benefits brought by this worldwide tendency will consequently outweigh the drawbacks.