Some people believe that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences, while others argue that alternative measures like rehabilitation and education are more effective. Discuss both views and give your opinion

Whether or not prolonging jail time be more beneficial than rehabilitating as well as educating prisoners is argued. The writer of this essay believes the latter provide greater aid for society as they make inmates understand their wrongdoings. It is vital to understand that prioritizing rehabilitation along with education over prolong jail time is more positive as it will avoid overpopulation. Simply put, as more prisoners enter prisons the more they slowly build up in population which eventually reach the occupation’s limit. Though, through rehabilitation, more individuals are able to leave these establishments balancing between the new and previous inmates. For instance, in some countries where life sentences are implemented, the percentages of human per square block exceeded those of regulated ones. However, some fear that ex- prisoners would recommit their crimes after being released. This drives from the belief that due to prior offenses, inmates might not be hired by employers. Forcing them to take part in illegal activities as a final resort. This might be true in the past, but it is compulsory for the apparent justice system to provide jobs for prisoners after being released so they can make a living. Therefore, it is more effective to educate criminals rather than lengthening their jail time. From the writer’s experience, rehabilitation aids criminals understand their wrong doings. This is because some people, especially children, are involuntarily forced or manipulated into violating the law for others’ benefits while they themselves have not grasped the weight of their actions. As a result, if put under programs teaching the law as well as righteous morals then these once criminals could understand the weight of their actions. When applied, rehabilitating can allow ex- inmates to redeem themselves. In conclusion, though fear of released prisoners recommitting offenses might be apparent in some people, rehabilitating and educating inmates not only decrease overpopulation but also make criminals be conscious of their actions. If law offenders are to redeem themselves, society would be more positive.