It was predicted that people living in the twenty-first century would have more free time than ever before because of improvements in technology. To what extent has this prediction come true?

Living in the twenty-first century, the era of modern technology and advancements made life much easier and saved people plenty of time. In my view, I agree that being surrounded by technology enables individuals to have much free time that can be well spent in other developments and further enhancement of human life. In the old days, house chores for example would take several hours of the day to accomplish as everything should be done by hand such as sweeping, dishwashing and laundry. Nowadays, the presence of machines (such as dishwasher, vacuum microwave among others) that are easy to operate and can finish the work with optimal results that are compared to or even better than human work spare people a lot of time that they can spend in achieving their life goals. Furthermore, a new leap in technology in the current century is the smart home. If you are a busy person, it would make your life easier to have everything you need at home at a press of a button or by giving orders by voice. For instance, assistance devices like Alexa can answer questions which saves people time of searching, reply to emails and send messages, all while you are taking your lunch or doing your daily exercise. In conclusion, the time saved by using these technologies is invaluable and people should learn how to utilize this valuable time for things that can not be achieved by machines or technologies like visiting friends and family or improving and maintaining mental and physical health.