Nowadays some older people choose to live in retirement communities and centers with other people, rather than living with their adult children. Is this a positive or negative development?

In the contemporary era, many older adults prefer to live in retirement homes instead of with their families. While there are some benefits of this trend, I believe this is a negative development due to its detrimental effects on individuals’s lives as well as on society. To begin with, one of the most significant disadvantages of elderly staying in old age care homes is emotional weakness and feel them lonely. Although senior citizens prefer to live away from their children in a nursing home, but it affects their mental well-being and weakens them emotionally. They miss their children and their love when sitting alone in a caregiver’s home and recalling the memories they spent with their family. That is why, residing in retirement homes, creates a concern of isolation and anxiety. Furthermore, in many countries, it is responsibility of children to take care of their aged parents and give them all required medical attention. If they send their parents in old-age care centres, it is against their values and culture. So, this increasing trend affects a society and conveys a negative message to young adults. In addition, another drawback of this situation is gap between generations. When children grow up under their grandparents’ supervision, they learn ethical values and attitudes towards society. If their grandparents live separately, children do not learn these principles and feel disconnected with their grandparents. In conclusion, although retirement homes provide medical care and required activities for older adults, I strongly think that it is a negative trend and can cause loneliness, reduce strong families ties and harm relationships between generations.