More and more people are becoming seriously overweight. Some people think a solution can be to increase the price of fattening foods. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The rising levels of obesity have led to a possible solution of increasing the cost of fattening foods in order to diminish this issue. The writer of this essay strongly agrees with this statement as it will abate the consumption of high-calorie food items and give an incentive to healthier products. It is vital to understand that the action of rising the price tag of junk foods will directly alleviate the utilization of them. In simple terms, when calorie-dense foods become more expensive, consumers with limited budgets will be less likely to afford them. Additionally, by raising the price of unhealthy dietary choices, people may now start to reconsider their eating habits, leading to more mindful decisions in purchasing healthier alternatives. Another point worth considering is the incentive to choose healthier sustenances. In other words, the higher the cost of high-fat food items, the more people will get rid of them. As a consequence, choosing healthier substitutes when the prices correlate between them is now more attractive. Take Mexico as a good example, where the regulation of fat has mitigated the obesity rate in this country down to stand at 18%, simultaneously enhancing the consumption of healthy dietary choices. In conclusion, the approach to raising the cost of sugary-laden sustenance will be the decisive answer to the phenomenon of obesity as it is going to reduce food consumption, while encouraging people to lead a better lifestyle.