Some people think the best way to solve global environmental problems is to increase the cost of fuel. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is asserted that the most optional way to overcome the global environmental challenges is rising the price of fuel. In my opinion, this procedure might have some benefits in terms of reducing the carbon footprint and enhancing air quality across the world due to the shift to the alternative energy resources. Nevertheless, it is important to note that exhaust fume is only one indicator that affects environment, the policies to recude it will not have thorough effect merely. In addition, there is a risk that rich people may not change their habits of using fuel. Fuel is the most widespread energy resource, which people have been using for many centuries. Though coal usage was more common in the past, since 19th century it has been replaced by oil, which both have negative effects on nature. Due to their excessive and uncontrolled utilization in personal life and various industries, not only humanity, but also all other living creatures are facing destuctive consequences. Therefore, making the fuel uncommon and unreachable merchandise by increasing its cost, will push economies to find alternative and more sustainable energy resources. As a result, the carbon footprint will be lessened and air quality in megalapolises will become better. For example, if the cost of gas is increased in Azerbaijan, citizens will tend to purchase hybrid or electric cars and will be depended on cheaper electric energy, which will result in the better air quality in the city. On the other hand, considering the facts that fuel is not the mere indicator that has negative impacts on nature and better-off people can afford using fuel regardless of its price, this policy may not be so effectice. Individuals on the top ladder of the society are usually reluctant about others' needs and worldwide problems. Therefore, they may not even notice the change in the cost of fuel. In conclusion, though some people claim that the best option to tackle the global environmental problems is increased fuel costs because it can decrease the carbon footprint and improve air quality, in my opinion it is necessary to acknowledge that exhaust fume does not affect nature negatively by itself, and if other indicators will not be removed, the policies may not work in the long term.