It has been proved that smoking kills. In some countries it has been made illegal for people to smoke in public places except in certain areas. All countries should make these rules. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

There is an ongoing trend that governments are implementing the policy which aims to prohibit smoking in public areas, though people can smoke only in certain spaces. The main reason behind this trend is because it has been proved that smoking behaviours kill people or have considerable negative effects on others' health. Hence, in this essay, I will explain why I strongly support this governmental practice. To begin with, one of the most significant reasons is side effects brought by smoking. For instance, in Japan, the substances, which are included in the smoke generated by someone's smoking behaviour, became notable due to serious impacts on people who are around the smokers, nowadays. In detail, just by being around people smoking, non- smokers also intake those harmful elements, and their health conditions are exacerbated as a result even though they do not directly smoke the cigarettes. Moreover, it has also been indicated that the extent of dangerous impacts brought by smoking is remarkably higher for non- smokers compared to that for ordinary smokers. Therefore, limiting the areas where people can smoke is essential for the entire society. On the other hand, some people counterargue this empirical evidence as that every person has the right to behave as they wish. Certainly, the physical freedom is clearly mentioned in the Japanese constitution, and the right which is supported by the most basic rule should be respected by every citizen. Meanwhile, it is also true that that Japanese constitution also noted that people can enjoy their own freedom as long as their behaviours do not harm other people. However, if smokers smoke in public spaces where juveniles are usually playing with their friends and if their health conditions are worsened, smokers ' behaviours obviously disturb the rights of children to stay healthy. Thus, regulating the places where people can smoke is important in every country because younger children and people who do not smoke are existing everywhere. In conclusion, although some people suppose that the right of smoking is protected by official laws, if those behaviours prevent others from enjoying their own freedom, smokers ' freedom needs to be limited. Moreover, the group of non- smokers exists in every country. For this reason, I completely agree with the statement that all countries should implement the rule that people cannot smoke in public areas.