Economic growth is the only way to end world poverty. However, some people say it leads to environmental damage and should be stopped. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There can be no doubt that the topic of world poverty is one which deserves some consideration. It is the view of this writer that the evidence is on the side of those who believe economic growth needs to be prioritised despite environmental issues. Those who champion economic growth point to the fact that this is practical. As should be self-evident, industrializing is crucial to a country's growth not only in its economy but also in the citizens' quality of life. As a result, more factories are introduced further leading to a lower unemployment rate and more job opportunities for people in need. One should also note that by having a strong economy, more money will be generously spent in order to help people with basic necessities. There is a different point of view which shows the opposite because this phenomenon badly affects the environment. This is due to the fact that businesses risk damaging the environment for personal needs. It can be attributed to unethical practices from companies that strive for success. For this reason, more factories are erected and operated, all releasing considerable amounts of harmful chemical waste to cut costs and compete in the market. This writer supports the former on the grounds that better regulations will rectify the problem. It is beyond a doubt that prioritizing economic growth introduces new approaches to address the problem. A clear-cut example of this would be stricter legislation, stopping companies from dumping industrial waste into the environment. Furthermore, one should also acknowledge that in order to do this, a rich and well-funded government of a nation is a must so as to have enough rights and power to control. Thus it can be seen that the environmental impact is outweighed by new policies and practicality. Therefore, there is ample evidence to conclude that economic growth is essential to end world poverty.