Some people believe that competition in the workplace, at school, and in everyday life is beneficial. Others argue that cooperation is more important than competition. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is irrefutable that competition is rife in workplaces, schools and in day-to-day tasks. A fair portion of the world has a strong conviction that competition is healthy and makes for a more productive life. Whereas antagonists of this view suggest that collaboration is more fulfilling and achieves more. In my opinion, ultimately, collaboration is more beneficial than rivalry. On one hand, proponents of the idea of competition in life firmly believe that without rivalry schools children lack enthusiasm, businesses will not strive for excellency and in day-to-day life - individuals lack respect for each other. To illustrate, students find mathematics classes more engaging because they feel challenged by the scholar next to them who is desperate to prove his competency above everyone else. In business, strife against competitors is immensely beneficial: MacDonalds is in a tug of war for clientele with Hungry Jacks. Consequently, this rivalry has led to reduced prices and better quality of food. On the other hand, supporters of collaboration have a strong conviction that working together fosters harmony in work environments. Consequently, this has led to better workflow and respect for everyone at work. To illustrate, teachers who encourage children to work together have more passes than fails. This is because colleagues generally understand why other classmates are failing to master a particular subject because in their networks, they discuss these issues. Subsequently, they assist their peers with their problems thereby improving the class average passes. In my opinion, collaboration is more effective than rivalry. Companies that prioritise or develop a culture of coordination between employees achieve greatness. The MacDonalds franchise is successful because team leaders are trained to urge followers to support each other and cheer for each other. In contrast to partnership, competition is good but difficult to standardize it, in some cases. Subsequently, individuals engage in toxic activities all in the name of outwitting their workmate which has devasting ripple effects such as colleagues quitting jobs and other bullying coworkers. Similarly, competition urges children to hide their strategies from other students which results in children isolating themselves from others. Work politics is driven by competition, and this spirals cases of bullying and harassment as employees can not handle the pressure. In conclusion, proponents of competition in work life and education institutions believe that it coerces children to work harder and fuels employees to out-achieve others, inadvertently boosting work morale. However, opposers of this view are convinced that harnessing cooperation in schools and mundane tasks makes for better results. In my opinion, synergy creates harmonious work environments free from the struggles of the toxicity caused by rivalry.