As housing is a basic need for people, government should provide free housing for everyone who cannot afford it. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Considering that shelter is an essential commodity, the government must make provisions for the individuals who are incapable of purchasing houses. I agree with this position to a certain extent and this essay will outline a key reason why tax contributions must fund accommodation for the needy. Further to this, it will elaborate on the need to create systems that allow resourcefulness of the those living with a disability and support them in developing ways to be relevant in the community. To begin with, some members of the society are inherently disabled and incapable of sustaining themselves. Hence, a need for the state to fulfill this moral obligation. To illustrate why this is necessary, let us consider the situation in Africa. Particularly the Zimbabwean Disabled People Association which relies heavily on government subsidies for upkeep. Some members of this organisation live with disabilities that are incurable and therefore cannot shelter themselves. Unless the tax payer intervenes medically, these individuals are likely to succumb to illnesses by virtue of their dispositions. However, a clear line needs to be drawn to demarcate whom the country's fiancial allocation may support to avoid exploitation of treasury. Potentially, the state must consider training these individuals to be resourcesful. One way to achieve this would be to incentivise research on means by which disabled members of the ociety can profit from what they are capable of doing. In Zimbabwe, some people living with a disability have been trained to knit clothes and sell. As a matter of fact, John Carcel - an individual living with a down syndrome disability has developed a small niche for himself selling hand made apparel and knitted scarfs. Programs like these aim to nurture ability within disability and to change the status qou. In conclusion, it is the capable tax payer's responsibility and moral obligation to support those in need. In fulfilling this, strong measures should be taken to ensure that within the cohort of those that are in need, the few that have means by which to be resourceful are given the opportunity to do so.