In many parts of the world, some famous people are considered as 'role models' and they are having an increasing influence on the young. Is this a positive or negative development?

While the concept of idols has always been prevalent, the surge of the Internet and technology has undeniably amplified the influence, making the idea of being influenced more prominent than ever. This phenomenon has several positive outcomes, including the potential inspiration and education on more progressive lifestyles to stagnant or regressive communities. One of the primary arguments in favour of individuals being role models is that they can help foster virtues in young people by showcasing such goodness in their content. This is because when individuals look up to someone, they aspire to emulate their idols in behaviour, speech, or mindset. That is why if the celebrity promotes a good trait, their audience would in turn be inspired to do the same. For instance, star Vietnamese athlete Anh Vien demonstrated the importance of hard work in her success, influencing her audience to adopt a more rigorous daily life. Moreover, the accessibility of becoming an influencer, irrespective of background, means that more progressive ways of living can be introduced to younger people in more orthodox areas. This is particularly beneficial for minorities, such as the LGBTQ+ community. In regions with prejudiced views, the introduction of LGBTQ+ influencers challenging societal norms helps young individuals navigate their identity with less shame and guilt, fostering more fulfilling lives. In conclusion, the impact of celebrities as role models on the youth is positive in many ways, particularly in cultivating virtues and fostering forward-thinking mindsets. However, it is crucial for guardians and teachers to impart critical thinking skills to maximize the benefits of these positive influences.