TOPIC – Some people say that the main aim of advertising is to improve sales of products that people do not really need. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

With the wide spread of various types of advertisement, some people feel exhausted by seeing them repeatedly and considering that demanding them to make unnecessary purchases is the main goal of the advertising industry. However, personally I disagree with this point of view for the following reasons. Firstly, an advertisement that seems irrelevant to a customer might be greatly useful to another person. One of the biggest advantages of advertising is it can be widely spread via different media so that I can reach to any corner of the society. Therefore, there will always be a potential customer that needs a certain type of product or service which matches the advertisement. Take stomach medicine for example, for a family that is enjoying themselves for a movie night, a stomach medicine advertisement is completely irrelevant. However, for a patient that is suffering from the stomach pain, this advertisement is significantly useful and could finally provide him with relief from the illness. Another reason is repeatedly advertisement can build an impression that although the customer is not in need of the product right now, it can lead the way whenever the product or the service is necessary. The car dealership advertisement is a great example. People might be able to see 10 or more varied brands of car promotion. Even though one might not need to purchase the car right away, he will have the impression that a certain type of car that brought the attention based on the advertisement and help one to make the decision of a purchase. Overall, even though repeated advertising might seem compelling and demanding customers to make unnecessary purchases, it still has a lot of advantages as a whole.