Some cities have vehicle-free days when private cars, trucks and motorcycles are banned from the city center. People are encouraged to use public transportation such as buses, taxis and metro on vehicle-free days. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Some urban areas have vehicles-free days when their private vehicles are not allowed in the city centre and individuals are encouraged to use eco-friendly public transportation. I believe that it has enormous pros as compared to the cons because it promotes healthy environment and less congestion on the roads. First and foremost, people will have clear and clean atmosphere and their surroundings as it will help in the reduction of harmful gases like carbon dioxide and carbon monoxide which are released from the car combustion as a result, air pollution will be depleted. People will be able to take a breath in fresh air consequently, they become health and fit. For instance, the air pollution has diminished upto 70% during covid pandemic when government banned vehicles on the roads. Secondly, citizens are able to see less traffic and they will have less chance to stuck in the congestion on the roads. On the other hands, it may cause lack of privacy and comfort zone. People have to wait in the long queues in order to catch public transportation like buses and metro as a result it will bring discomfort and uneasiness to their lives. At the end of the day they become exhausted and lethargic after a long working hours and commuting. Lack of privacy is another disadvantage that they will face. Moreover, some individuals have claustrophobia and it would be hard for them to travel with other masses. For example, as per the survey which has been conducted in 2023 in the USA explored that people who were commuting via public transportation have low energy levels. To conclude, I firmly believe that the advantages overweight the disadvantages as vehicles free days have a tendency to recover the health and environmental which are an imperative part.