Some companies sponsor sport and sport star as a way to advertise themselves. Some people think it is good while others think there are disadvantages. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

With the rise of popularity in sports, companys found a new way to advertise themself through sponsorship. While this supports athletes to be more productive and efficient, it can also harm the culture and meaning of sport. Over the last few decades, sport got more and more competitive and to be able to stay on the top, it is mandatory to train long hours with the best equipment. For sport stars it is important to get the best training possible, no matter the cost. This means, they have to make money while preparing for a competition. Companies can make this possible by having the athlete wear their logo or equipment at championships and in return the person can focus on their training plan with the best equipment. Both partys can benefit, as their shared goal is to earn medals and be seen by many. On the other hand, the cultural aspect of the sport gets overshadowed by advertisements. Sport has always been a competition between different towns, states or countries. Jocks were proud of their association and winning for your country was the biggest accomplishment one could get. With the rise of sponsoring, the best of the best go where the money and therefore biggest sponsor is. In conclusion, players fight more for a company than their country. This is often seen in football, where players switch clubs for horrendous sums just to play against their previous team mates. In summary, sponsoring can improve the sport as a whole and give people their best chances on showing their skills. Nevertheless, Sport should be a way to represent your town or country and make the people watching proud of being a part of that. I believe, as long as advertisements dont spoil the sport it can influence it in a positive way.