The only way to reduce the amount of traffic in cities today is by reducing the need for people to travel from home for work, education or shopping. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent days, some people believe that the best approach to mitigating heavy traffic is reducing the opportunities for citizens to go out. This opinion is partly true because the need to go outside itself is the main factor causing this problem. Hence, in this essay, I will explain why I moderately support this statement. To begin with, we need to acknowledge that there are several reasons for people to travel from home to somewhere and that the extent of importance of those purposes is not always the same. For instance, when students go to their schools, the main aims would be to receive an education, from a wider perspective. However, focusing on the details, it becomes obvious that specific purposes are different among those people. This means that some of them would hope to obtain knowledge from the lectures held there and the others would want to acquire societal skills, including communication skills, through daily conversations. In other words, for some students, schooling in physical institutions plays an important role because it has been proved that in-person communications are more effective for people to enhance their societal skills compared to online ones. Moreover, this principle can be applied to workplaces because employees learn numerous things from their colleagues or seniors there as well. Therefore, regulating these essential opportunities lacks rationality, even if the regulation itself aims to mitigate heavy traffic. However, as some people argue, some activities can be sacrificed for reducing the amount of traffic. For example, traveling for shopping is one of the unnecessary behaviours nowadays due to technological advancements. Specifically, we can obtain any information and purchase any product on the internet now regardless of the type of product. In other words, actions such as driving to supermarkets or other stores become less rational choices. Therefore, if a specific city is struggling with the amount of traffic and that city has the well-constructed internet, shopping behavious should be limited, especially during the time when the traffic is comparatively heavy. In conclusion, whereas some aspects, such as education and jobs, are essential for citizens, shopping behaviour has a meaningless aspect. Hence, I consider that traffic regulations should be enforced on travel for specific purposes such as shopping. For this reason, I moderately agree with the initial statement.