In my country, plastic containers have become more common than ever and are used by many food and drink companies. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

It is indisputable that many food and drink companies are rapidly increasing the utilization of plastic containers. In my opinion, this is a positive development, as plastic is easy to recycle and environment friendly. This essay will discuss both the benefits and drawbacks of using such material. On the one hand, the process of producing plastic containers is considered safer for the environment, since their harmful emissions are relatively lower than those of other materials such as aluminium production. A good example of that can be seen in the insignificant pollution levels in the industrial cities that specialize in producing plastic containers compared to others that focused their production on aluminium. In addition, plastic can be recycled and reused in other industries. For instance, electronics companies use this recycled material to manufacture the outer shells of devices, leading to a reduction of industrial waste. On the other hand, these kinds of containers may affect the nutritional quality of food and drinks, as plastic can damage the freshness of food or drinks, as plastic cannot always preserve their freshness under changing temperatures. For example, a whole shipment of chocolate packaged with plastic was reported to be ruined after exposure to a harsh heat wave. That clearly demonstrates the limitations of plastic protection against extreme temperatures, which should be taken into consideration. In conclusion, there are no easy answers to this question. On balance, however, I tend to believe that using plastic containers is an eco-friendly option that can be reused multiple times. Furthermore, it offers a more convenient and sustainable alternative for the food sector to package its products.