Many companies sponsor sports as a way to advertise themselves. Some people think this is good for the world of sports, while others think there are disadvantages of this. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

As varying sports become increasingly popular worldwide, the debate over whether companies should sponsor sport events as a commercial campaign remains a controversy. While there are compelling reasons for either standpoint, it, arguably, depends on the organizers’ approaches. The crux of the matter, according to the pessimists, is the overwhelming cost. Typically, the international tournaments and continental games require substantial financial investments, along the lines of managerial expenses and procurement of technical infrastructures, thereby leading to cash flow constraints and operating risks due to the proportionally higher price. Looking at the big picture, by this business mode, excessive sponsorship exposure can affect the viewing experience, and this over-commercialization may result in fewer participants. Alternatively, the optimists hold diametrically opposed views by two levels. As for the athletes, higher fixed salaries and prizes are provided by the sponsors, maintaining and offering the incentives to enhance their performance, thus to generate more revenues for sport organizations by attracting a larger group of sport fans. Furthermore, the niche sports struggling to gain a fanbase can be allocated more resources to expand their scale and attract mainstream media attention. On balance, whether this trend positively affect the sport industry largely depends on how the funding from adverts is used. If the revenue is put to best use, as which were mentioned, the whole industry benefits from it with low opportunity costs. Whereas, if the resources are misused or even fall into illegal deals, such as corruptions and bribes, this can be disastrous to each sector of the sports. To conclude, while both sides hold true for their beliefs, it is personally determined by the individuality of stakeholders. Consequently, there is no golden rule for everyone when opting for strategies of enterprise expansion.