For centuries, important parts of education have remained such asreading, writing and maths. With the advent of computers, somepeople think that computer skill be made as a fourth skill to be addedto the list. To what extent do you agree?

As the traditional subjects consolidate the systematic and developed education, the debate over whether computer science should be included in the main courses remains a controversy. While there are inherent drawbacks of this trend, it, arguably, is more beneficial in the long run. The crux of the matter is the overwhelming cost. Typically, the procurement of technical infrastructure and employment of relevant faculty request substantial financial investments, and the opportunity cost of less funding on healthcare, infrastructure, etc. falls on taxpayers. Looking at the big picture, students with proficient computer skills are more likely to commit juvenile delinquencies, along the lines of stealing online information and conducting cyber-attacks towards the school network, in light of more tangible skills compared to what is taught in conventional courses. To be more specific, this could potentially result in social unrests and crises to authorities. Albeit the aforementioned downsides, the upsides are undeniably more apparent, taking comprehensive skills and technological growth into consideration. Individually, by exposure to components and rationales of diverse electronic devices, digital natives gain deeper understandings of other realms, such as chemistry and physics, applying theories and formulas to real-life problems. Moreover, a higher proportion of technological workers is cultivated with contemporary teaching methods, which not only addresses the unemployment of high-tech companies, but also acts as a driving force of economic growth due to the enhanced productivity of capital goods. As far as the environments are concerned, more computer technicians can possibly approach to environmental issues by dedicating into eco-friendly products or less resource-intensive algorithms. Statistically, in China, the second largest technological superpower among all nations, 15% of the population own e-cars, reducing the overall noise and air pollution by 20%. To conclude, this unconventional policy meets the major needs, although there are some inevitable opportunity costs. Consequently, governments should embark to the front from behind the scenes to set computer science as an optional course and add more computer -related majors to colleges.