People are having more and more sugar-based drinks. What are the reasons? What are the solutions to make people drink less.

There is an ongoing trend that people are more likely to have sugar -based drinks. Obviously, there are several drawbacks, such as obesity and high blood pressure, for us. Hence, in this essay, I will explore the main reasons behind those health issues and propose some solutions. To begin with, one of the most prominent causes of this problem is economic advancement. Specifically, as economic growth is accelerated in every country, citizens need to work longer because, without enough labour, economic development cannot be achieved. However, as The Economist stated in a recent article, one of the biggest issues we need to tackle now is poverty, and the most effective approach to solving that issue is economic development. But it is obvious that the longer employees work, the more tired they are, and sugar is effective in mitigating those accumulated stresses and exhaustion due to its chemical features. Moreover, unfortunately, drinks containing a large amount of sugar are generally cheaper than other types of beverages. This triggers the situation where those pressured people are more likely to purchase unhealthy drinks. For this reason, working classes are potentially consuming sugar in several ways, including drinks because they are always aspiring to reduce those mental and physical burdens. On the other hand, as implied above, there are some solutions to resolve the issues brought by this ongoing trend, and those solutions are governmental actions and campaigns. For example, in some European countries, by introducing a higher tax on products which contain a lot of sugar, those nations succeeded in reducing the number of patients who struggle with obesity. Moreover, in Japan, the government regulated imports of unhealthy sugar -based drinks, leading to a smaller number of drinks which people can buy in stores. Therefore, the most effective solutions are political actions, and public sectors should positively implement them. In conclusion, although the entire world promotes economic developments to mitigate financial disparities among ordinary people, this trend causes several problems, including health issues by stimulating workers to consume sugar. Moreover, while some benefits can be brought by consuming sugar, over-consumption can be harmful to us. For these reasons, I suggest that governments should implement several policies.