Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Nowadays, people are too obsessed with buying or acquiring material things such as expensive clothes or cars because, they think that people around them will judge them based on what they possess.

In this day and age, many people think that obtaining material things is a way to keep up with the latest trend. I completely disagree with the following statement, I believe that people mostly judge them through the inner self. This essay will discuss the following opinion futher. First and foremost, possessing a lot of material may show that you are endowed with wealth or look stylish but it doesn't reflect your personalities. While gaining knowledge to improve yourself is much more important as you can foster social skills that makes you stand out. Admittedly, It is true that trying to develop yourself everyday is better than pursuing to buy expensive items or transportations to avoid being criticized. Therefore, accumulating life skills and general knowledge should be prioritized ahead of gaining possessions. Secondly, buying luxurious goods doesn't make any meaning contribution to the society. However, building up your skills can really have a big impact on others. By studying and training, you can work as a firefighter, a doctor. These jobs not only save people's life from danger but can also make you earn respects from other individuals. For instance, by learning and focusing on nuturing yourself diligently, you can later devote something that is meaningful to the society. In conclusion, being obsessed with buying stuff is not as important and should be spent time on other activities as owning luxuries doesn't have any impact and devotion to the society.