Some people believe that the purpose of education is to prepare individuals to be useful to society. Others say that the purpose of education is to achieve personal ambitions. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

There are differing opinions regarding whether the reason for education is to achieve personal goals or equip people to contribute to society. I believe in the latter approach as educating an individual helps them acquire skills which can improve the lives of their fellow beings in society. On one hand, people argue that the main reason for education is to help a person live a wealthy lifestyle. Many parents believe that if they send their children to colleges, the children will end up in high-credential jobs that offer high salaries upon graduation. As a result, when an individual earns high wages, it will help them afford a glamorous lifestyle, such as owning a big house or fancy car. However, I disagree with this opinion because not every individual is able to live a luxurious life after completing their higher studies, as some big companies require their candidates to have prior experience in addition to academic qualifications. Therefore, a degree alone does not guarantee financial success. On the other hand, proponents believe educating an individual prepares oneself to improve the lives of other people. Universities help learners acquire essential skills such as critical thinking, problem-solving, and communication, which can be used to improve the lives of others. For instance, if a student pursues a degree in medicine or social work, they are more likely to serve their communities by addressing health or social issues. I find this view more persuasive as this way, education not only benefits the individual but also has a wider impact on society. In conclusion, while education can help in providing a lavish lifestyle. I believe that the main purpose of it is to improve the lives of other people