Governments should impose stricter regulations on industries to achieve net-zero carbon emissions. To what extent do you agree

The role of governments has become a subject of debate in contemporary society, as many individuals firmly support that supervision should strictly comply with industries in order to reach net-zero carbon emissions. Although I understand that there might be some opposing arguments against this, I concur with this perspective for several reasons. Primarily, harsh regulations on corporations benefit the climate significantly, especially when we are at a tipping point based on current global warming situation. There has been a rapid development in the past few decades, thanks to global industrialization. However, this development coincides with massive pollution at the same time. For example, electric plants can be seen in almost every country, yet they also contribute to a great share of greenhouse gas emissions. Therefore, stricter rules for limiting air pollution are vital to curb future emissions, so that companies will adhere to an environmentally friendly developing strategy. Furthermore, strict requirements will encourage companies to make adaptations and create an innovation stimulus. It will drive industries to source renewable energy options, like using wind or solar energy, instead of coal and fossil fuels. In fact, renewable energy is currently acting as a crucial factor in some regions, helping to reduce air pollution, creating job opportunities, and boosting the local economy. Take solar energy for example. Solar panels are commonly applied to numerous houses in North America, creates thousands of jobs, and reducing their clients’ electrical bills by averagely 40% based on EPA reports. Nonetheless, more government interference on changing the climate regulations culminates in rationally production cost increase. In the world of business and finance, it is normal for a corporation who prioritizes profit over sustainable development and environmental protection. Considering our current living cost is already high enough, it makes more sense for a company to conduct their production in the most cost-effective way. For instance, cement manufacturers facing carbon taxes may initially raise prices, as seen in Canada's 2024 industry reports. Regardless, actions need to be made to protect the Earth better, in order to provide a rewardable and livable future in the long run. In conclusion, while there are some valid concerns that arise from corporations facing expenditure challenges, I maintain that tightening regulations by the government is conducive to a more sustainable future, and the benefits significantly outweigh the drawbacks.