Some people think technology development decreases crime, while others believe that it encourages crimes. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

People have different views about whether technology decreases or encourages crimes. Personally, I strongly hold that the development of technology can significantly decreases crimes. On the one hand, the developed technology not only help the criminal investigation, but also act as a deterrent. To begin with, the public security has been improved dramatically since the introduction of surveillance camera. To be more specific, police find it much easier to chase the track of escaped criminals and restore crime scene by watching the recording. In addition, the individuals who have criminal thought will have a sense of being supervising as the community monitoring equipment can be seen everywhere. As a result, before committing crimes or having violence behavior, people tend to be calmer and reconsider the propriety of their behaviors, which largely reduce cases of crime of passion. Nevertheless, there is a voice arises that new form of crimes has increased largely because of the technology development. Take the example of telecom fraud, which is newly emerged criminal industry, without the help of social media and internet, there would never have been so many victims being cheated. Ironically, the internet is helping to reduce these crimes. Firstly, the prosperous of telecom fraud industry in the same way indicate a decline in theft. Because less people are using entity money, the thief has decreased significantly. In addition, the advertisement related to Anti-theft and counterterrorism can be transmitting at a unprecedentedly fast speed on the internet, improving a public criminal awareness. In conclusion, I still believe that the technology has brought so many benefits on eliminating the crimes that technology decreases crimes overall.