Both government and individuals are spending a large amount of money for protecting animals and their habitat. This money should be better spent dealing with fundamental issues in society such as poverty and health care. To what extent do you agree?

In the contemporary era, the government and individuals are taking measures by funding not only for environnmental stablility but also for dealing with issues such as health and poverty. This has prompted a debate about whether the spending is higher on the former and instead, they should invest more on the latter. I believe an equal contribution to both is essential. To begin with, protection of animals and their ecosystems helps combate one of the prominent issues i.e. environmental degradation. A further consideration, it helps maintaining biodiversity and stability in the food chain. For instance, a cleaner and balanced environment is vital for human health. As well as, it also suppresses another major issue i.e. climate change. While the critics may argue that dealing with essential problems is far more important. On the one hand, poverty can help suppress issues such as income inequality and crime rates. On the other hand, enhancing health care can help overcome diseases and provide basic facilities needed for humans. But, it is not deniable that people have moral duty to care for animals, as they cannot speak for themselves. Furthermore, spending money on their protection creates jobs and in turn boosts the economy. In conclusion, a more balanced approach and an equal contribution is needed for both be it conserving animals and their environment or meeting basic human needs and focusing on their survival. Clearly, because both are inter-related to each other and play individual roles towards a better planet.