People should choose their course of study not on the basis of their own interests, but based on the kinds of jobs they can get. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

The students should choose their studies not based on their personal interests, but on the type of work they can get. I do not agree with this statement because the real vocation and motivation to study arises from what interests them. Many people who enter university, do so with the hope of being able to learn what interests them and work in something that motivates them. A study by Columbia University, showed that 2 out of 3 students who dropped out of a program, did so because they didn't feel truly motivated. In addition, many young people are pressured by their families to study a career that will ensure them a good workplace instead of study what they really like. A survey of 18-year-olds in Washington, indicated that most young people chose their careers based on the social status they would gain later on, for example, in terms of work, salary, and benefits. Personally, I left my first degree a few months after starting it, because I chose it based on future opportunities instead of what truly interested me. I believe that the most important thing, is to choose a degree that is in line with the student's interests and also, has an outlet in the working world. Young people can feel very passionate about something, but if it doesn't have a field of work or the future becomes uncertain, it's better to reconsider following that path, or look for a career that is related to their interest and has a job market. In conclusion, people who want to study should choose their career based on their interests and motivations, as long as they choose a career that also allows them to find work in the future.