Some people think that economic progress is the only way to end poverty while others believe that it is causing damage to the environment and so should be stopped. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

In the contemporary era, economic stability and environmental degradation are the prominent issues faced by humanity. This has prompted a debate, while some argue that economic progress is causing damage to the environment and this should be discarded, others believe that this is the only solution to deal with poverty. In my opinion, a more balanced approach dealing with both of them together is an effective solution. Firstly, dealing with environmental damage and poverty both can go hand in hand, as both of them are interlinked to each other. To illustrate, adoption of a sustainable development model like to utilise renewable sources of energy such as solar, wind and hydropower will not only help combat pollution, but also will create jobs, improve the infrastructure and boost economic conditions of the nation. Therefore, these methods will mitigate poverty and enhance income stability for people. Secondly, government policies and funding towards both in equal proportion will help deal with the problems simultaneously. For instance, regulations for carbon taxes for industries will not only reduce pollution, but also will push them to adopt sustainable methods on the go. A further consideration, government can help subsidize greener technology and encourage entrepreneurial ideas and businesses related to the same. In conclusion, while it is considered that economic stability is the main issue causing environmental damages whereas, if we follow practices such as a sustainable development model, implement strict regulations and policies and subsidize greener technologies we can help mitigate the negatives. Thus, a balanced approach is needed to have a sustainable and developed nation altogether.